Home >> Experiences >> Compass is Fine to Use Now
Compass is Fine to Use Now
Posted on March 23rd, 2014
I got lots of emails, texts and tweets asking about the device that Matt Every’s caddie had with him out there. I just asked Matt and he told me it is a compass which was made legal with the Amendments to the 2012-2013 edition of the Decision book. Decision 14-3/4 says:
Use of Compass During Round
Q.A player uses a compass during a stipulated round to help determine the direction of the wind or the direction of the grain in the greens. Is the player in breach of Rule 14-3?
A.No. A compass only provides directional information and does not gauge or measure variable conditions or assist the player in his play. (Revised)
Just wanted to ease everybody’s mind and give you the text of the Decision in case you don’t have it. Bravo to his caddie for knowing the rules! Cheers and congrats on your first win Matt!